Is Wine Plant Based?

There’s a lot of debate surrounding the topic of whether or not wine is considered a plant-based beverage. Some people swear by red wine as part of a healthy, plant-based diet, while others say that all forms of alcohol are off limits. So what’s the truth?

Is wine plant based? No, wine is generally not a plant based drink. As wine is made out of grapes, it is easy to say that it should be suitable for a plant-based diet. However, it is the use of animal-derived products in the winemaking process that makes its consumption questionable for a plant-based diet. Many winemakers use animal products such as egg whites and milk proteins to help clarify and stabilize their wines.


Below, let us try to find out whether you can find a plant-based alternative that lets you enjoy wine on this diet.

Top 3 Wine Substitutes For A Plant Based Diet

Modern-day wines are made by using a fining process that involves the use of animal-derived agents like egg whites, gelatin, casein, isinglass and other components, making it difficult to classify the alcohol as a plant-based drink.

However, several brands like Hello! have come up with animal-free versions of wine targeted at those who follow restricted diets. 


The Australian winery Fourth Wave has introduced a line of plant-based wines known by the name Hello! to appeal to those who restrict their diet and lifestyle to natural foods and drinks.

It is a warm range targeted at millennials with bright and flavorsome offerings. The best part about this range is the friendly nature that makes it suitable for any diet. 

Some of the variants in this line include Pinot Grigio, Pinot Noir, Rose and Shiraz sourced from established vineyards in South Australia. These varieties are made from different varieties of grapes and contain varying proportions of alcohol to suit different preferences.

They are crafted to complement occasional plant-based treats without ruining health goals. 

Frey Winery

This American winery is the first organic operation of the country that combines traditional and modern winemaking methods to offer distinctive flavors. They have been crafting wines without any animal-based fining agents to suit a variety of diets.

The vineyard uses only bentonite, a plant-based earth clay to purify the white wines. They don’t fine the red wines, keeping them organic and unprocessed, suitable for a plant-based diet. 

Blood Brother Republic

Another brand that uses organic winemaking techniques, Blood Brother Republic excels at crafting some of the most flavorsome red wines that plant-based diet followers can indulge in.

The organic methods deliver a savory flavor with earthy qualities to appeal to any wine lover. The most popular variety is the Shiraz layered densely with the finest fruit parcels sourced from McLaren Vale. It contains 14.5% alcohol and has a strong dark berry and chocolate flavor with a rich palate.

The wine is free of fining agents as it is crafted traditionally to suit healthier lifestyles.  


So, is wine plant-based? The answer to this question is not a simple yes or no. While the base ingredient of wine is grapes, many winemakers use animal-derived products in the production process.

If you are looking for a plant-based drink that will fit into your dietary restrictions, it might be best to steer clear of wine and explore other options.