Are Crackers Plant Based?

A plant-based diet focuses on nutrient-rich foods like vegetables and fruits. However, most people would want to indulge in some kind of snacks and treats from time to time. Crackers are one of the most favorite snack options and they are available in healthy varieties. 

So, are crackers plant based? Yes, crackers are plant based. Whole-grain and other varieties of crackers are plant-based as most top brands use only plant-derived ingredients. They are often made using a few ingredients and don’t contain animal-based or milk products.

Are Crackers Plant Based?

However, it is important to check the ingredients of crackers before consuming them to make sure they suit your plant-based diet. In this article, we talk more about plant-based crackers along with their benefits, ingredients and more. 

Why Are Crackers Plant Based?

Though crackers are high in calories and should be consumed in moderation, they are often made out of whole grains without the use of oil and are therefore classified as plant based. Normal saltine crackers are baked with only water and flour with yeast. 

Crackers are available in several other varieties most of which contain whole grain flours and avoid any use of dairy or animal products. 

What Are The Main Ingredients In Crackers?

Most high-quality brands use only plant-based ingredients to make crackers that taste great. They generally consist of white flour, water, baking powder or yeast. Some other brands make them healthier by using gluten-free ingredients and sea salt. 

As crackers contain no sugar or flavors, they can even be a part of a vegan diet. They have a short ingredient list with no animal product or milk. Though they are not loaded with nutrition, they are certainly a great choice for an occasional treat for those on a plant-based diet. 

Crackers Nutrition

When chosen wisely, crackers can be a great way to add whole grains into the diet. Moreover, when consumed with the right foods, crackers can be a part of a healthy, wholesome, plant-based diet. Make sure you buy 100% whole grain crackers to get a good amount of fiber. 

Crackers often contain no added sugar and have little sodium content. Most crackers are topped with sea salt to make sure they don’t disrupt your diet. 

Here is a breakdown of the nutritional value of some common varieties of crackers. 

NutrientRegularSaltine Whole Wheat

The chart above shows nutrition info for 1 cracker in different varieties. As you can see, the nutritional value differs depending on the ingredients and type. However, there is not much difference in the number of calories and fat and carb content between these types of crackers.

Moreover, the fats and carbohydrates in crackers are not unhealthy because they contain no butter or other processed foods. But as they don’t deliver a lot of protein and fiber, crackers should not be a part of one’s daily diet.


So, if you are thinking of indulging in crackers with your tea or soup, you can definitely consider them. However, make sure you choose a high-quality brand and check the ingredients list. Try to opt for healthier versions that are gluten-free and contain some protein-rich ingredients. 

Leave a Comment