Is Kefir Plant Based?

Kefir is a popular drink among health enthusiasts as a rich source of gut-friendly bacteria. It is generally consumed to boost digestion and maintain the immune health. When you switch to a plant-based diet, it is important to find out what foods you should avoid. 

So, is Kefir plant-based? No, Kefir is not plant-based because it is prepared by mixing kefir grains to milk to ferment and result in a drink rich in probiotics. Traditional kefir is made by adding kefir grains to cow, goat or sheep milk.

Is Kefir Plant Based?

Read on to find out whether there is a plant-based alternative that lets you benefit from this beverage without interfering with your diet that limits the use of dairy products. 

Top 3 Kefir Substitutes For A Plant Based Diet

While traditional kefir is made by adding kefir grains to cow, goat or sheep milk, it is not the only way kefir can be prepared. There are several plant-based kefir options available to choose from. It is possible to prepare kefir using dairy substitutes to make it ideal for a plant-based diet. 

A number of brands like Coyo offer plant-based kefir that uses dairy-free ingredients so that you can add this nutritious, beneficial drink to your diet. You can also make kefir at home by replacing dairy milk with almond, coconut or soy milk. 

Coyo Kefir 

An excellent substitute for dairy-based kefir, this product offers you an organic dairy-free coconut milk fermented drink. It is kept as natural as possible and provides your gut with billions of live cultures to improve digestion. The kefir is made using organic coconut milk and live plant-based kefir cultures. 

Coyo Kefir also contains tapioca starch and other plant-based ingredients for a fresh, tangy beverage that makes a great addition to any diet. You can either enjoy it as it is or add it to a bowl of granola or a smoothie. It resembles the traditional kefir in terms of nutrition, benefits and texture.

Tibico Water Kefir

Another kefir alternative for those who follow a plant-based diet, Tibico offers a plant-based delicious, nutritious drink containing billions of live cultures to boost digestion, support the immune system and balance gut health. Each bottle is fermented for over 10 tens and packed with live cultures, enzymes, amino acids, antioxidants, minerals and vitamins for great health. 

Being a sugar-free, dairy-free, gluten-free drink, Tibico is suitable for any diet that restricts dairy. It is available in a variety of flavors including Russet Apple, Wild Berry, Ginger & Turmeric root and others. Theis kefir contains no added sugar or artificial sweeteners or flavorings. 

Sojade Blueberry Cherry Soya Kefir

The first ever soy-based kefir, Sojade offers an organic beverage full of health benefits coming from billions of kefir cultures. It contains natural sugar from cherry and blueberry and boasts a creamy texture with a fruity flavor. The drink is also rich in plant-based protein.

All the ingredients in this beverage are plant-based and organic. The kefir is made up of fruits, soya juice, apple juice, live vegan kefir cultures and tapioca starch. Each serving of 100ml offers 6.6g carbs, 2.1g protein and 1.4g fat.